Step-By-Step Startup Guide

1) Create a test client

After installation, the first thing you need to do is create a “test client”. This will allow you to familiarize yourself with the interface of WP-Client, and get an idea for how changes you make affect the way your client sees their pages.

2) Login as a test client

Once the test client is created, you need to login as that client in either a different web browser, or an incognito session of your browser. Keep this separate browser open while you are making changes to the plugin, refreshing the page to see the changes from the client’s point-of-view.

3) Create/Manage Client's Start Pages

What your client sees when they first login will be based on what Start page you create and assign to them. You can design the Start pages in the same way that you design a standard WordPress page, where you simply insert the correct shortcodes for the WP-Client functionality you want to use. By default, the Start page exists in your installation at WP-Client-->Portals-->Start Pages. You can edit an existing Start page, or create a new one. From the same menu, you can also set your desired "Default" Start page, as well as assign Clients and Circles if desired (if a Client is not specifically assigned to a Start page, their designated Start page will appear as "Default" when they login).

4) Edit HUB

If you choose to go the more traditional "one Start page" route for your clients, simply hover over the Simple Template and select "Edit".

Some content will already exist in the standard simple template, and you can begin designing the Start page just as you would any other standard WordPress page. All of the WP-Client shortcodes and placeholders can be found by clicking the "+" on the upper left of the Visual Editor toolbar. Search the "wp" keyword, then select "WP-Client Shortcodes" item under Widgets.

You can use these shortcodes to insert functionalities such as the file uploader, a dynamic list of Portal Pages for the client, the private messaging system, etc.

5) Save HUB changes

Once you’re finished, you can use the "Update" button on the right-side to save your changes. This will apply your changes for all of the Clients who are assigned to this Start page (which would be all of your Clients, if you are only using one Start page), and the Clients will see the changes immediately upon their next login.

Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us